Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

I have a girl in my life who loves scones or any baked goods she can get her little 3-year old hands on.  I will buy her one periodically on our way through Starbucks or if she’s good at the grocery store, but honestly, I don’t feel great about either option, knowing they are loaded with fat and sugar and who knows what else.

I love the Happy Herbivore and recently got Nixon’s cookbook.  She’s got a great recipe for Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins that are a hit with both Sophie and myself, and they are the perfect on-the-go breakfast as I’m off to class.  Oh, and no one would believe it’s only 123 calories!

Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

1 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 c. rolled oats

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger, or to taste  (I happened to have a gingerroot in my hand so I used fresh and it was perfect.  Probaby about a tsp)

1 c. unsweetened applesauce (The only applesauce on hand was organic cinnamon.  It worked just fine)

1/2 c. brown sugar

1/4 c. pure maple syrup

3/4 c. frozen wild blueberries

 

Preheat oven to 350*.  Grease or spray muffin tin or paper liners, if using.

In a large bowl, whisk flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices together until well-blended.

Add applesauce, sugar, and maple syrup and stir until mostly combined.

Add blueberries, stirring until just combined.

Spoon into muffin cups, 3/4 full.

Sprinkle additional oats or brown sugar on top if desired.  (I did a tiny amt of both)

Bake for 18-25 min, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  (20  min was perfect for my oven)

Transfer to a wire rack for cooling.

Blueberry Muffin

 

Nutritional Information:  Cal 123, Calories from fat 5, Total Fat 0.5, Cholesterol 0, Total Carbs 27, Dietary Fiber 2.4, Sugars 12, Proteins 2.1.

One thought on “Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

Leave a Reply

