Meatball Parmigiana Sliders

photo

Remember when I said that I rarely cook/eat Italian food?  Well would you believe that I’ve never made a freaking meatball?  For real.

I found this recipe on Pinterest and it looked simple and delicious.  I had some friends coming over for a casual dinner so it seemed like a good time to test it out. The friends are pretty honest with me and I know they would have told me if it sucked.  It didn’t.  I enjoyed it a lot and it happens to be on the dinner menu for tonight.

Recipe can be found here.  I did make a few changes which I included in my recipe.  I used 2% milk rather than whole milk and I omitted the veal.  I’m sure veal would be delicious but I know it would’ve totally changed the flavor and I liked it without.  Pardon the horrible photo.

Ingredients

  • For The Meatballs

    • 2 slices white or sandwich bread, torn into 1-inch pieces
    • 1/2 2% milk
    • 8 ounces ground beef (85 percent lean)
    • 8 ounces ground pork
    • 1/2 cup finely grated pecorino Romano or Parmesan cheese (1 ounce)
    • 3 tablespoons coarsely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
    • 1 garlic clove, minced
    • 1 large egg
    • Coarse salt
    • Marinara Sauce (I used a jar of Trader Joe’s Marinara Sauce)
  • For The Sandwiches

    • 2 dozen rolls, split
    • 1 1/2 cups coarsely grated mozzarella cheese (5 ounces)
    • 1/2 cup finely grated pecorino Romano or Parmesan cheese (1 ounce)
    • Small basil leaves

Directions

  1. Make the meatballs: Soak bread in milk for 5 minutes. Gently mix bread and milk with meats, pecorino Romano, parsley, garlic, egg, and 1 teaspoon salt. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
  2. Roll mixture into twenty-four 1-ounce balls (each about the size of a golf ball).
  3. Heat sauce in a large heavy pot over medium heat. Drop meatballs into sauce, and bring to a gentle simmer. Cook, partially covered, until meatballs are cooked through, 20 to 25 minutes.
  4. Make the sandwiches: Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Working in batches, arrange rolls, cut side up, on a baking sheet. Place 1 meatball, a spoonful of sauce, 1 tablespoon mozzarella, and 1 teaspoon pecorino Romano on bottom halves. Bake until cheese melts, about 3 minutes. Sandwich with basil.
Leave a Reply

