Crock Pot Chicken and Beer

Yep, you read that right. I cooked some chicken in beer today. And my house smelled so very delicious. 

I started with 6 bone-in chicken thighs. I doctored them up with salt and pepper, oregano, and thyme. Go with whatever spices work for you. 

Heat 1 tbsp EVOO in a frying pan (again, I use ceramic) over med-high heat until it’s rippling. Add about 1/2-1 tsp minced garlic (to taste), and stir for 1 minute. Add all 6 pieces of chicken. Sear each side for 5 minutes, and then transfer chicken to your crock pot. 

ImageImage

Next dump a bottle of beer over the chicken. I chose a local brew made right here in Stratford, CT. It’s Two Roads Worker’s Comp Saison. It really brought out the savoriness of the chicken and herbs I used.

Image

 

Set the crock pot on low and cook for 6 hours. Add some thawed carrots (I had a bag of frozen baby carrots in the freezer that I ran water over to thaw) about 30 minutes before the 6 hours are up.

Holy God was this good. And easy. I’m going to make this like every week. I paired it with Jasmine rice (a staple in our house), and it was scrumptious. 

Image

One thought on “Crock Pot Chicken and Beer

  1. Dayum, you have been cookin’ it up! This sounds delicious. I love anything cooked in beer (which is weird because I can’t stand drinking it). This is going on the list of things I have to try sometime soon. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

