Soy and Apple Cider Honey Mustard Pork Loin

I scored a 6 lb pork loin for under $6 right before Christmas. Our local grocery store runs the sale a couple of times a year, and there was no way I was passing it up. When I got home, I sliced it up into 6-1lb portions, froze 5 of them, and cooked the 6th for dinner that night.

Last week, I stumbled upon this recipe on Pinterest, so I took a pork loin out of the freezer, mixed up the marinade in a ziploc bag, added the frozen loin, and let it defrost and soak up the flavors over the next two days. My marinade was as follows:

 

2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce (Kikkoman)

2 tbsp apple cider honey mustard (got it at a farmer’s market in Mass. Shaker Kitchen is the name of the husband and wife team who makes it, highly recommended. You can order any of their delicious products at shakerkitchen.com)

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 teaspoon minced garlic

fresh cracked pepper to taste

 

Once you’re ready to prepare the pork loin, preheat the oven to 400*F. Add 1 tbsp EVOO to a frying pan (I love my ceramic stuff) over medium heat. Once you see it start to ripple, add the pork loin (make sure to shake off the excess marinade first). Sear for 5 minutes, then turn and sear another 5 minutes on the other side. Turn off heat when done.

photo-10

Once that’s complete, transfer the pork loin to a baking sheet lined with foil and pop in the oven for 30 minutes.

While that’s baking, prepare to make your reduction sauce (my first reduction sauce ever!). Add 1 tbsp butter to the still hot pan. Do not turn the heat back on yet. Let it melt. Then add about a 1/4 cup of the marinade and about a 1/2 cup of water (the original recipe calls for 1 cup veggie stock, but water works just fine). I’ve looked it up and yes, you can reuse marinade that was on raw meat provided you boil it for at least 15 minutes. Otherwise, you can just prepare a new one. It’s up to you. Turn the heat to med/med-high, and get the mixture bubbling. Stir it occasionally, getting all the delicious little bits off the bottom of the pan. I reduced for about 22 minutes before I deemed it thick and safe enough to eat.

photo-11

By the time the sauce is done, the loin is ready to come out of the oven. Take it out, but let it rest for 5-10 minutes before cutting. Then slice the meat thinly and serve.

photo-9

I paired it with some Jasmine rice and broccoli covered with hummus (another pinterest find. It was only meh. Kind of bland. Maybe it needed more salt or heat or something. I’ll have to keep experimenting). The meal was fantastic. I got rave reviews from the Mr. I’ll definitely be making it again.

photo-8

Leave a Reply

