Hearty Curried Farro Salad

I love a good, nutty, wonderful salad that I can tote along to class with me on busy days.  I just made this for the first time today and it quickly moved to the top of my grain salad faves.  I found it here and changed very little, but I’ll post my version none the lexs.

Hearty Curried Farro Salad

1 cup farro (I measured 1 cup of dry, so I probably made more than intended by the recipe)
1/2 red onion, finely chopped
1 fennel bulb, sliced
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup golden raisins
1/2 cup pecans halves
Salt and Pepper
1 large handful arugula
Curry Vinaigrette:
1 tablespoon balsamic
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon chutney
1/2 tsp hot curry powered
salt and pepper
Preheat oven to 400F. Thinly slice the fennel and place on a baking sheet.
Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, and roast for 20 minutes at 400 F,
or until golden brown and crisp at the edges. Cook farro per manufacturers
directions. Combine farro, fennel, red onion, raisins, pecans, and arugula.
*I ended up making slightly more dressing than the recipe suggests, probably because of my use of so much farro.
This salad is lightly dressed so the peppery arugula comes through, the nutty pecans and raisins are perfect, and the hint of curry spice to go with the chutney in the vinaigrette is just excellent. Even with so much flavor, my daring 2 year old dug in and declared “In my tummy this makes me giggle!”  I think that means she loved it as much as I.   This will be on my regular lunch rotation, no doubt!
4 thoughts on “Hearty Curried Farro Salad

  1. Oh, it is! I must say, I don’t use chutney much, so I stared blankly at the entire shelf of them in my local grocery. I ended up going with a slightly spendy Major Grey’s and I think it was perfect!

Leave a Reply

