Lemon Basil Chicken Salad

photo

I had some ladies coming over to work on a project so I wanted to provide them with a simple, easy lunch.  This is the first time I’ve used a Paula Deen recipe and I was very happy with it.  I made a few changes which are in parenthesis.  I ate mine on Honey Wheat Hawaiian rolls and Pete and Chloe had leftovers today as a panini.

Lemon Basil Chicken Salad

Ingredients

4 cups diced cooked chicken (I cooked 3 breasts with some broth in the crockpot the night before so I could just quickly use my tongs to shred the chicken.  Much better than cubed chicken).

1 rib minced celery (I don’t like celery so I used 2 finely sliced green onions)

1/4 cup chopped fresh basil leaves

1/4 cup slivered almonds (I used sliced)

1/2 cup sour cream (Substituted 1/2 c. plain greek yogurt)

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1 1/2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions
In a medium bowl, combine chicken, celery, basil and almonds. In a small bowl, combine sour cream, mayonnaise, lemon juice, salt, and pepper. Add to chicken mixture, tossing gently to coat. Cover and chill.

One thought on “Lemon Basil Chicken Salad

  1. I have some leftover shredded chicken from the enchiladas tonight and may have to make some chicken salad! My dad makes this with raisins in it too… sounds weird, but so good.

Leave a Reply

