Tex-Mex Shrimp

I rarely cook with shrimp.  Like, literally hardly ever.  I don’t know what came over me, but I blame it on Kate posting this last week.  Anyway, I made a little different version tonight and I must say, they are delish and versatile, just like Kate’s.

Tex-Mex Shrimp

Borrowed from here….

Cooking spray

1 1/2 cups chopped white onion

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 1/2 pounds medium shrimp, peeled and deveined

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 tablespoons butter

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon hot pepper sauce  of your choice

1/4 cup fresh lime juice

1/4 cup finely chopped green onions

Heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add onion; sauté 3 minutes. Add cumin, chili powder, shrimp, and garlic; sauté 4 minutes. Remove from heat, and add butter, salt, and hot sauce. Stir until the butter melts. Stir in juice and green onions.

_________________________________-

I can imagine these little guys would be delicious over rice, or on top of a taco salad, or just about any way you serve them.  I made them in to tacos for D.Jones by putting a dollop of homemade guac on a slightly warmed corn tortilla (doubled up, actually so they don’t tear and fall apart), and then layered some shrimp on top of the guac, topped that with a sprinkle of crumbled cotija cheese, some fresh cilantro and sliced green onions.

For myself, I crisped the corn tortilla in the oven and made it tostada-style, all nice and crunchy, then a layer of guac and the same toppings as above.  D.Jones and I taste-tested and it’s impossible to say which was better..they were both really good.

Taco Style

Or tostada style

2 thoughts on “Tex-Mex Shrimp

  1. Shrimp tacos are the bomb. I also have a recipe with cumin and chile powder that i use frequently. I like your hot sauce addition.

Leave a Reply

