Baked Sweet & Spicy Pickle Chips

I love pickles.  I really love all kinds of pickles, but one of my faves are the Tony Packo’s Sweet Hots, as seen here.  They don’t have them in many stores by me, so my father-in-law brings them to me from Wisconsin.  It doesn’t take me long to empty a jar and now I have a whole new way to enjoy them.  Of course, you can use any pickles you like, this was just an interesting twist on the recipe for me.  If you use regular pickle chips, of course they won’t be “sweet and spicy”, but you get the idea.

Sweet Hots

When D.Jones and I go out on the town for a cold beer, we like to order deep fried pickles.  We both like them and they are a nice complement to an ice cold beer.  That said, it’s not like I’d eat them all the time.  This little version that I found here allows me to enjoy the crunchy, salty snack without the deep frying, which is a bonus.

It was super easy, too.

Baked Sweet & Spicy Pickle Chips

Approximately 16 pickle “chips”

1 c. panko bread crumbs

1 egg

___________________________

Preheat oven to 400*.  Cover a baking sheet with tin foil.  In a small bowl, whisk the egg.  On a small plate, dump your cup of Panko bread crumbs.

Remove the pickle slices from the jar and lay them in a single layer on a paper towel.  Use another paper towel to dab the liquid off of the top of the slices.

Dip each slice in the egg and then in the Panko, being sure to coat the whole slice.

Lay the panko breaded chips in a single layer on your baking sheet.  Bake 15 minutes, flip them over and bake another 5.  If they are still not as brown as you’d like them, turn the oven to broil for a couple of minutes.

Serve with ranch dressing.

Pickle Chips

One thought on “Baked Sweet & Spicy Pickle Chips

  1. Love Tony Packo’s pickles. Oh, and their chili sauce for hot dogs is amazing. i grew up on the stuff. These look like a great snack. I can totally imagine how good they would be with an ice cold beer.

Leave a Reply

