Spicy Shrimp with Garlic and Parsley

I once dreamt of a cookbook full of color photos for every single recipe, maybe even step by step photos.  And then Pinterest came along and all my dreams came true.  Really though, it is the greatest thing to happen to the internet, in my opinion.  My menu and palate have forever changed.

This shrimp recipe is one of my favorites because it can be served so many different ways.  If I’m feeling generous, I give it to my family as an appetizer to nibble on while I cook the main course.  Tonight, I served it with rice and broccoli.  Simple and delicious.  My favorite way to serve it is Mexican style, either in a tortilla with some salsa verde and avocado or placed on top of a tostito cup filled with guacamole. Yum!  If you are a pasta fan, it would be great with a lemony, buttery pasta as well.

The little bit of red pepper it calls for does add some heat so if you are making it for the kids you might want to half it.  Chloe likes the heat so I follow the recipe.

Spicy Shrimp with Garlic and Parsley courtesy of Cooking Melangery

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 to 5 Tbs. olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, finely minced
  • 1 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp. sweet paprika
  • 1 lb. medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1 to 2 Tbs. fresh lemon juice
  • 1 to 2 Tbs. dry white wine
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 2 Tbs. chopped fresh parsley
Directions:

In a sauté pan over medium heat, warm the olive oil. Add the garlic, red pepper flakes and paprika and sauté for 1 minute until fragrant.

Increase the heat to high, add the shrimp, lemon juice and dry white wine, stir well, and sauté until the shrimp turn pink and are opaque throughout, about 3-5 minutes.

Season with salt and black pepper, sprinkle with the parsley and serve.

shrimp

8 thoughts on “Spicy Shrimp with Garlic and Parsley

  1. This sounds delicious. I love how versatile it is, the fact that it cooks in less than 10 minutes, and the ingredient list is stuff that I normally have on hand. Definitely a must try for me.

  2. Pingback: Tex-Mex Shrimp « Food Alibi

  3. Pingback: Superbowl Remix | Food Alibi

Leave a Reply

