Dinner Monday: Green Pea and Mint Soup

From The Instant Cook by Donna Hay. A very quick and easy recipe, one I had not tried though I’ve had this cookbook for ages. It says it serves four, but those would be very large servings… I would say more like it serves six, especially if you have some toast or salad on the side.

3 cups frozen green peas
2 large potatoes, peeled and chopped
6 cups chicken stock (or vegetable, for vegetarians)
1/2 cup cream
1 tbsp chopped mint (I would recommend 3-4 tbsp)
Sea salt and cracked black pepper

Pepper sour cream
1/2 cup sour cream
1 tsp+ roughly cracked black pepper

Place the peas, potatoes, and stock in a pot over medium high heat an bring to a boil. Cover and cook for 10 minutes until potatoes are tender. Roughly blend soup in a blender until almost smooth and return to pot over medium heat. Add cream, mint, salt, and pepper and heat until hot.

To make pepper sour cream, combine the sour cream and pepper. To serve , ladle the soup into bowls and top with pepper sour cream. Don’t skip the sour cream because of calorie worries – it makes the soup. Use fat free or lite sour cream if it’s a concern.

Alternates given:

After soup is blended, stir in 1 cup cubed smoked ham or sliced and fried smoked sausage. You could also replace the peas with chopped broccoli. Next time I make it, I intend on doing half peas, half broccoli. I think it will bring the flavor up a bit.

Final Thoughts:

Nevan and Dave both loved it. I liked it a lot, but felt it could have had a little more umph. Maybe a sprinkle of paprika in the sour cream and the half and half of broccoli and peas, like I mentioned. All in all, you can’t beat it for a quick low ingredient, minimal attention 30 minute meal.

20130121-184356.jpg

20130121-184412.jpg

3 thoughts on “Dinner Monday: Green Pea and Mint Soup

  1. I LOVE soups. This one sounds delicious and best of all, I can probably find all of these ingredients at my local grocery store rather than having to go into the city. This is definitely going on my to-cook list. My soup-hating boys can just suck it up. hahaha.

Leave a Reply

