Crispy Quinoa Sliders

I have a friend who likes to tease me because I have a tendency to pin something on Pinterest and immediately attempt the recipe/craft/sewing project within a day or two.  The other day she challenged me to try a new recipe, so being the overachiever that I am, I did just that.

These were met with rave reviews from both Chloe and Pete, despite the scrunched up looks on their faces when I placed their meal in front of them.  I liked them too.  In the future, I would eat them more like a crab cake as there was too much bread.  I served them with homemade sweet potato fries.

Crispy Quinoa Sliders

Make approximately 12 sliders

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed

2 cups vegetable or chicken broth

1 cup cooked chickpeas

1/2 cup freshly grated provolone cheese (I used monterey jack)

1/4 cup panko bread crumbs

1/2 cup chopped carrots

2 green onions, thinly sliced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 large egg + 1 egg white, lightly beaten

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

3 tbsp olive oil

12 slider buns

1 or 2 avocados, sliced for topping

1/2 cup chipotle mayo (1/2 cup mayo and 1 tbsp (or more depending on the spice level you like) adobo sauce from adobo chiles)

Directions:

Add quinoa and stock to a medium sauce pan and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cover, cooking for 15 minutes or until can be fluffed with a fork. You can do this ahead of time or even the night before (and store quinoa in the fridge) so the quinoa can cool.

While quinoa is cooking, slice the green onions, chop the carrots, mince the garlic and grate the cheese. Place it all in a bowl, then add panko and mix. Coarsely chop the chickpeas and add to the bowl. Once quinoa is finished cooking, add it to the bowl and mix well until incorporated. If needed, let cool or place in the fridge for a few minutes to cool. Add in beaten egg + egg white, salt, pepper and mix well. Form into patties that fit the size of the buns you have.

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and add 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil. Once hot, add 5-6 quinoa patties and cook until deeply golden brown and crispy, about 5 minutes. Gently flip and cook 5 minutes more. Remove and continue with remaining olive oil and patties. Serve with sliced avocado chipotle mayo!

photo

http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/09/crispy-quinoa-sliders

5 thoughts on “Crispy Quinoa Sliders

  1. I like vegetarian recipes that use grains and beans as a meat substitute — I do not trust TVP. And I really like your idea of serving this like a crab cake. My meat eaters might actually accept this if I served it that way rather than as a burger substitute.

Leave a Reply

